CYPRESS — District 17-6A football coaches released the All-District Team on Jan. 5, following the conclusion of each team’s postseason.

Two different CFISD teams were represented among the district superlatives, which included district champion Cy-Fair High School earning four awards. Cy-Fair senior running back LJ Johnson was voted Offensive MVP for a second consecutive season, while the Bobcats’ junior linebacker Hunter Warren was named Defensive MVP. Cypress Creek High School freshman quarterback Brad Jackson was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year and Cy-Fair senior defensive lineman Demitri Harris was voted Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Cy-Fair Head Coach Jeff Miller was named Coach of the Year after leading the Bobcats to the league championship.


The following CFISD athletes earned first and second team and honorable mention all-district recognition:

First Team All-District 17-6A
Position Name Grade School
Offensive Linemen Grant Thornton 12 Cypress Creek
Devontae Taylor 12 Cy-Fair
Blake Gonzales* 11 Cy-Fair
Fernando Montoya* 12 Cy-Fair
Tight End Jack Witmer* 12 Cy-Fair
Wide Receivers Brazos Gadler 12 Cypress Creek
Cole Hess 12 Cypress Creek
Jaxson Chrest 12 Cy-Fair
AJ Gooden-Dottin 11 Cypress Ridge
Running Backs LJ Johnson 12 Cy-Fair
Mark Benjamin 12 Cypress Ridge
Fullback Prince Borten 12 Cy-Fair
Quarterbacks Carter Cravens* 12 Cy-Fair
Defensive Linemen Quinten Renteria 11 Cypress Creek
Ciaus Parris 12 Cypress Creek
Garrett Greaney 12 Cy-Fair
Demitri Harris 12 Cy-Fair
Kadin McKenzie 12 Cypress Ridge
CJ Ortiz 12 Jersey Village
Linebackers Hunter Warren* 11 Cy-Fair
Joey Verret* 12 Cypress Creek
Tristian Fletcher 12 Cypress Ridge
Andre Fields* 12 Jersey Village
Gavin Wuthrich 11 Jersey Village
Defensive Backs Nick Chrest* 12 Cy-Fair
Thatcher Milton 12 Cy-Fair
Jaiden Vaquera 11 Cypress Ridge
Alec Dalencour 12 Jersey Village
Dionel Burrell 12 Jersey Village
Kicker Miguel Moreno 11 Cypress Ridge
Punter Rodrigo Garcia 12 Jersey Village

*Unanimous all-district selections

Second Team All-District 17-6A
Position Name Grade School
Offensive Linemen Luis Quintero 12 Cypress Creek
Manjot Dhindsa 12 Cypress Creek
Austin Browne 12 Cypress Ridge
Christian Lopez 11 Cypress Ridge
John Rivera 12 Jersey Village
Eder Meza 12 Jersey Village
Tight End Cooper Stevens 9 Cy-Fair
Sean Benton Jr. 12 Cypress Ridge
Wide Receivers Ryan Nguyen 12 Cypress Creek
Justin Austin Jr. 12 Cypress Ridge
Quinci Jones 11 Jersey Village
Running Backs Khalil Watts 12 Cypress Creek
Lavar Alexis 12 Jersey Village
Quarterbacks Brad Jackson 9 Cypress Creek
Isaiah Phillips 12 Cypress Ridge
Defensive Linemen Lamond Henry 11 Cy-Fair
Nicholas Salisbury 12 Cy-Fair
Jeffery Patton 11 Jersey Village
Micah Chiku 12 Jersey Village
Landon Suarez 11 Jersey Village
Linebackers Ian Pacheco 12 Cypress Creek
Emiliano Soldevilla 10 Cypress Ridge
Oluwafemi Ajayi 12 Cypress Ridge
Defensive Backs Zion Johnson 12 Cypress Creek
Darrius Murphy 12 Cypress Creek
Evan Delaune 12 Cy-Fair
Charlie Pollard 12 Cy-Fair
Carson Price 12 Cy-Fair
Kicker Danny Bahena 11 Cy-Fair
Punter Emiliano Beltran 10 Cypress Ridge
Return Specialist Brazos Gadler 12 Cypress Creek
Carson Price 12 Cy-Fair


Honorable Mention All-District 17-6A
School Name Grade
Cypress Creek Jaden Mensah-Kennedy 12
Korey Celestine 12
John Dawson 9
Noah Garcia 11
Cy-Fair Landon Arrington 11
Braden Acosta 12
Alex Rodriguez 12
Aaron Padron 11
Ahmad Gibson 12
Jackson Suddath 12
Weston Mounce 12
Cypress Ridge Will Walker 12
Aaron Woods 11
Jaelon Madden 12
Jersey Village Taj Dorsey 12
Adin Wilson 12
Reagan Gill 10
Joel Jackson 12
Adam Tran 9
Rashon Estes 10
Quinton Jones 9
Xavier Joyce 11
Michael Evans 12


Visit the Cypress News Review's Amazon Store!
Visit the Cypress News Review’s Amazon Store!

Hey, thank you for taking the time to read this article. Please like our Facebook page, follow us on Twitter and subscribe to us on YouTube.

The Cypress News Review is your independent, locally owned online source for news, education news, information and sports in Cypress, Texas, since 2018.

Disclaimers: This website, related social media outlets, and future expansions, are not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Bridgeland Development, LP. BRIDGELAND® is a registered trademark of Bridgeland Development, LP.


Support the Cypress News Review: