CFISD trio named to Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list

CYPRESS — Three former CFISD football standouts were named to the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list, which was announced earlier this month. Cy-Fair High School graduate Brock Wright, Cypress Springs High School alumnus Taye Barber and Cypress Ranch High School graduate Keric Wheatfall were among 47 student-athletes recognized for the statewide award.

Wright is a senior tight end at the University of Notre Dame. The 2016 Under Armour All-American has played in 36 career games for the Irish.

Barber is a junior wide receiver at Texas Christian University. He enters the 2020 season as TCU’s top returning wideout.

Wheatfall is a senior wide receiver at Fresno State University. He starred at Blinn College for two seasons before joining the Bulldogs in 2019, where he started four games.

In its eighth year, the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who graduated from a Texas high school, was born in Texas or played football at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college. Honorees must exhibit characteristics that define Campbell, including integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship and overcoming adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals.

The initial list will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists and then up to five finalists, with the selections made by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and previous winners. The 2020 winner will be announced at the end of this year’s football season.

Players do not have to appear on the watch list to be eligible to win the award.

Former Baylor University quarterback Bryce Petty won the inaugural award in 2013 and is joined by former Heisman Trophy quarterbacks Baker Mayfield (2017) and Kyler Murray (2018) past winners. Six of the eight winners have been quarterbacks.

Barber and Wheatfall are among 19 wide receivers on the 47-player watch list. The next leading position is quarterback (12), which is followed by running back (10).

Visit the Cypress News Review's Amazon Store!
Visit the Cypress News Review’s Amazon Store!

Hey, thank you for taking the time to read this article. Please like our Facebook page, follow us on Twitter and subscribe to us on YouTube.

The Cypress News Review is your independent, locally owned online source for news, education news, information and sports in Cypress, Texas, since 2018.

Support the Cypress News Review:

Recent Posts

link to Newly Sworn-in Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones Begins First Day Serving Residents of Precinct 4 with Commitment to Unity and Service

Newly Sworn-in Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones Begins First Day Serving Residents of Precinct 4 with Commitment to Unity and Service

“I am deeply grateful for the opportunity to serve and will work hard every day to unite our community and continue driving Harris County forward.”  Harris County, TX– Today, Lesley Briones...