LSC-CyFair’s Beta Lambda Mu Earns Top State and International Recognition

CYPRESS — Lone Star College-CyFair’s Beta Lambda Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) continued a history of excellence and accolades with determination and leadership.

“This year’s Beta Lambda Mu chapter’s officer team and the chapter’s PTK members are outstanding individuals who have repeatedly shown they can overcome, problem solve, and lead even in the most difficult circumstances. They are extraordinary students, leaders and friends,” said Leslie Jewkes, chapter advisor.
“With more than 1,300 chapters worldwide in Phi Theta Kappa, the competition is fierce,” said Jewkes. Not surprisingly, LSC-CyFair’s chapter had another outstanding year and excelled at the regional and international levels.
At the Texas Region level, the Beta Lambda Mu chapter earned a College Project Merit Award, Action Merit Award and one of the “Top Texas Chapters.” Chapter member Erika Guerra and chapter officers Khang Nguyen (VP of Records) and Alejandra Perez (Vp of Public Relations) earned the Competitive Edge Award.
In addition, Nguyen was named VP of District IV for 2020-21. This future mechanical engineer, who deems interpersonal communication skills most essential in PTK and useful in his chosen career, will join Jewkes for District IV events and inductions as well as to publish the District IV monthly newsletter.
At the PTK 2020 Catalyst (International Awards Conference), the chapter was named among the Top 100 Chapters, the Most Distinguished Chapter (in the top 3% of all chapters in International PTK-only 35 chapters were named for this award) and awarded Distinguished College Project Award.
Among the individual PTK accomplishments of Beta Lambda Mu chapter members are: Eddie Carrizales (President), Heather Monroe and Ross Blake (VP of Fellowship) were selected for the Texas All-State Academic Team, and Blake was named as a Gold Scholar on the Coca Cola 2020 Academic Team.
“We are very proud of the Beta Lambda Mu chapter’s achievements under the leadership of this outstanding officer team. Their impact is noticed as they serve on our campus and represent LSC-CyFair at Phi Theta Kappa conferences throughout the year,” said LSC-CyFair President Dr. Seelpa Keshvala.

From left are Lone Star College-CyFair Beta Lambda Mu chapter’s Eddie Carrizales – President; Bioleta Reyes – VP of Leadership; Kalyn Marrs – VP of Service; Alejandra Perez – VP of Public Relations; Khang Nguyen – VP of Records; Ross Blake – VP of Fellowship; Jazmine Alejos – chapter member and Professor Leslie Jewkes – Advisor.

For information on LSC-CyFair’s award-winning chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honorary organization for community college students, email

Support the Cypress News Review:
1. Bookmark us!
2. Become a monthly patron for as little as $1 via Patreon (
3. Like our Facebook (, follow our Twitter (, and subscribe to our YouTube channel (

Recent Posts

link to Newly Sworn-in Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones Begins First Day Serving Residents of Precinct 4 with Commitment to Unity and Service

Newly Sworn-in Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones Begins First Day Serving Residents of Precinct 4 with Commitment to Unity and Service

“I am deeply grateful for the opportunity to serve and will work hard every day to unite our community and continue driving Harris County forward.”  Harris County, TX– Today, Lesley Briones...