LSC-CyFair’s Beta Lambda Mu Takes Top Honors at Regional

CYPRESS TEXAS — Lone Star College-CyFair’s Beta Lambda Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) took top honors at the recent annual Texas State PTK Convention held in Houston.

“This year’s officer team and PTK members were amazing. It’s truly been an honor to serve with such high energy and dynamic individuals,” said Leslie Jewkes, chapter co-advisor with Dr. William Schultz.  “The scholarship, service and mature responsibility that the members and officers showed this year truly does set them apart and shows the promise they bring to all their future endeavors.”

This chapter’s teamwork earned them 5-star Chapter Status (highest level chapter award) as well as the Outstanding Honors in Action Project Award and Outstanding College Project Award.

Officers and members worked together to submit a thoroughly researched and well-written Honors in Action (HIA) research project focused  on factors that influence undergraduate students’ choice of major. They also did phenomenal work on their College Project, a multi-faceted approach toward helping both the current and potential future LSC-CyFair students.

Schultz said for the HIA project, officers and members designed, administered, and analyzed the data from a survey sent to students all across the world. The responses indicated that a number of factors were significant, including family pressure and perceived job prospects/income potential.

For the College Project, he said chapter members held a series of workshops throughout the year focused on resume building, job interview skills, scholarship deadlines and application writing, and other “soft skill” development. They also provided tutoring on campus and visited CFISD schools and events to recruit students, improve perception of community college and educate about college opportunities.

Beta Lambda Mu members also earned several individual awards. Chapter officers Shrestha “Diya” Datta, Ivanna Porter and Johnathan Tindle were inducted into Texas State PTK Hall of Honor, along with Jewkes, who was officially inducted into PTK at the convention.

In addition, Datta, who is chapter president, placed third in the State Prepared Speech competition.

“She has served as president since last May and has done a stellar job,” said Jewkes. “Our chapter has managed to resurrect itself because of this young woman’s passion and commitment to her position.”

This spring, Beta Lambda Mu welcomed 86 new students increasing membership to 1,481.

For information on LSC-CyFair’s award-winning chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honorary organization for community college students, email

Helping more than 22,000 students reach their academic and career goals, Lone Star College-CyFair is the 5th comprehensive college in the Lone Star College System, located at 9191 Barker Cypress Road just three miles south of U.S. Highway 290. Tomorrow also starts today at the LSC-Fairbanks Center, located at 14955 Northwest Freeway, LSC-Cypress Center, located at 19710 Clay Road and LSC-Westway Park Technology Center, located at 5060 Westway Park Boulevard. For more information about LSC-CyFair and its programs, call 281.290.3200 or visit

Lone Star College offers high-quality, low-cost academic transfer and career training education to 99,000 students each semester. LSC is training tomorrow’s workforce today and redefining the community college experience to support student success. Stephen C. Head, Ph.D., serves as chancellor of LSC, the largest institution of higher education in the Houston area with an annual economic impact of nearly $3 billion. LSC consists of six colleges, 10 centers, two university centers, Lone Star Corporate College and LSC-Online. To learn more, visit

Support the Cypress News Review:
1. Bookmark us!
2. Become a monthly patron for as little as $1 via Patreon (
3. Like our Facebook (, follow our Twitter (, and subscribe to our YouTube channel (

Recent Posts

link to Newly Sworn-in Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones Begins First Day Serving Residents of Precinct 4 with Commitment to Unity and Service

Newly Sworn-in Harris County Commissioner Lesley Briones Begins First Day Serving Residents of Precinct 4 with Commitment to Unity and Service

“I am deeply grateful for the opportunity to serve and will work hard every day to unite our community and continue driving Harris County forward.”  Harris County, TX– Today, Lesley Briones...